…Katharine Morling

Cut 2Stitched up Katharine Morling_2

I feel like Katharine’s work is quickly becoming some of my favourite! The way the media is so disguised makes you want to look at any of her work for ages just capturing what it means to you. She uses ceramics and paints them to bring to life their still life aspects.

I think she manages to create a huge amount of movement in the pieces even though they are just still and sitting there.

My work can be described as 3 dimensional drawings, in the medium of ceramics. Each piece, on the surface, an inanimate object, has been given layers of emotion and embedded with stories, which are open for interpretation in the viewer’s mind.

KATHARINE MORLING0017-72dpi _2 Matches -KATHARINE MORLING 300

‘Matches’ is my favourite piece here I think as it is quite a simple form but the movement is portrayed so well, in my opinion, and this makes it really interesting to ‘watch’…

poison pen Katharine Morlingsmaller

Leave a comment